Record winners in the front row from left are: Dawson Douvier, Blake Pooch, Avery Pooch, Kaylee Bauer, Brady Grimes, Amelia Grimes, Weston Hawkins. In the back row from left are: Laureen Walter, Easton Palmer, Emma Kovarik, Jayce Kovarik, Allie Mrnak, Abbey Schoumaker and Lydia Bright.


The annual Pope County 4-H Awards Program was held on Saturday, Oct. 2 at the Pope County Fairgrounds.  The event celebrated the achievements of the members and volunteers involved in the Pope County 4-H Youth Development Program.  Members received recognition for their years of membership, project records, leadership and community club involvement. 

Record keeping is an important part of completing the 4-H learning process.  This year thirty-three youth completed records. Record completion award for completing records from 6-12th grades was awarded to Isabella Ortendahl of Trails & Tails 4-H Club, Brandon Ortendahl of Trails & Tails 4-H Club and Austin Mattson of the Ben Wade Blazers 4-H Club.

Herdsmanship Awards were given in Horse with a tie for Champion to Lily Anderson & Haley Shea and Reserve Champion Ana Engen, all of the Trails  & Tails 4-H Club.  Our Division 1 Livestock winners were the New Prairie Pioneer 4-H Club and the Division 2 Livestock winner was the Trails & Tails 4-H Club.

Our Outstanding First Year Member awards were given to Jack Anderson of Busy Beavers 4-H Club and Whitney Anderson of Busy Beavers 4-H Club.

Spirit of 4-H Awards were given to Easton Palmer of the Villard Livewires 4-H Club, Molly Douvier of the Ben Wade Blazers 4-H Club and Laureen Walter of the Villard Livewires 4-H Club.

Our “I Dare You” award recipients received a copy of the I Dare You by William H. Danforth were Lily Anderson of the Trails & Tails 4-H Club and Andrew Mrnak of the Villard Livewires 4-H Club.

Friend of 4-H Award is given to an outstanding individual or business that has supported the Pope County 4-H Program. This year we honored the Pope County Agricultural Society for their contributions over many years to our 4-H program.

The Outstanding Volunteer award was awarded to Kelly Anderson of the Trails & Tails 4-H Club for her countless hours of mentoring, organizing and leading in the 4-H program. This award is sponsored by the Glenwood Chamber of Commerce.

 We also took time to honor our 4-H Clubs for their contributions to support the 4-H motto “to make the best better.” Our Outstanding Community Service Club award was awarded to the Ben Wade Blazers 4-H Club and sponsored by the Glenwood Rotary Club.  The Outstanding Conservation Club was awarded to the Lakes Area Leaders 4-H Club.  The 4-H Outstanding Club of the Year, sponsored by Runestone Electric Cooperative in Alexandria, was awarded to the Ben Wade Blazers 4-H Club. 

The Awards Ceremony kicked off the start of the new 4-H Year and the celebration of National 4-H Week, October 3-9th. This year’s theme is “Find Your Spark!”  

4-H is operated by University of Minnesota Extension. To learn more about 4-H in Pope County, visit 


Find more photos of award winners in our photo gallery!