By Melanie Stegner

A special organizational meeting was held on Wednesday, January 5, to appoint the 2022 officers of the Minnewaska Area School Board.

Upon a nomination by Gugisberg, Chad Barsness was unanimously voted Board Chairperson again. Zavadil was nominated and unanimously elected Board Vice-Chairperson. Nick Gugisberg was voted Clerk and Ted Reichmann was voted Treasurer.

Regular monthly meeting dates were set for the year on the third Monday of each month, except January 17 being held on January 24 in honor of Martin Luther King, Jr Day and February 21 being held on February 28 in honor of Presidents’ Day.

The Pope County Tribune was designated the official district newspaper and all Pope County banks and the Minnesota Liquid Asset Fund were designated official depositories. 

The school board voted to keep the mileage rate in alignment with the government-approved mileage rate of 58.2 cents per mile.

The usage of machine signed checks was approved and electronic funds transfer by Vicki Moen, Drew Olsonawski and/or Charles (Chip) Rankin was approved. 

Salaries for the school board were set at $500 for the chairperson, $150 for the clerk and treasurer. All board members receive $50 for regular and special meetings and an additional $50 for all meetings over four hours long, it was decided.

The board authorized administrative personnel to contact legal counsel to deal with legal issues as necessary and designated Supt. Chip Rankin as Title I LEA Representative.

It was announced near the end of the meeting that the school intends to comply with the OSHA Emergency Temporary Standard for staff, requiring unvaccinated staff to wear masks and/or test weekly.