The following is the notice of federal and state offices that will be voted for at the state general election to be held on Tuesday, November 8, 2022.  The filing period for United States Representative, State Senator, State Representative, Governor and Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, State Auditor, Attorney General, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, Judge of the Minnesota Court of Appeals, and Judge of the District Courts begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 17, 2022 and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, May 31, 2022.

Note: Filing offices will be closed Monday, May 30, 2022, in observance of Memorial Day.

The place of filing for federal offices is the Office of the Secretary of State, State Office Building, Room 180, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155-1299. The place of filing for state offices is with the Office of the Secretary of State or with the county auditor of the county in which the candidate resides.

Candidates may file in person or by mail if the filing is received during the filing period. Candidates who will be absent from the state during the filing period and meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes section 204B.09, subdivision 1a, may arrange to file during the seven days immediately preceding the candidate’s absence from the state. This notice is provided pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 204B.33. 


United States Representative (One office per district)

Districts Counties

7  Becker, Big Stone, Brown, Chippewa, Clay, Clearwater, Cottonwood, Douglas, 

Grant, Hubbard, Kandiyohi, Kittson, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, Marshall, 

McLeod, Meeker, Morrison, Murray, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Pipestone, 

Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Roseau, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens, 

Swift, Todd, Traverse, Wadena, Wilkin, Yellow Medicine



State Senator (One office per district)

Districts Counties

12 Big Stone, Douglas, Pope, Stearns, Stevens, Swift

State Representative (One office per district)

Districts Counties

12A Big Stone, Pope, Stearns, Stevens, Swift

12B Douglas, Pope, Stearns


Governor and Lieutenant Governor

Secretary of State

State Auditor

Attorney General


Candidates for judicial office may file either with the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State or with the County Auditor in the county where the candidate resides. A Candidate filing for one of the Minnesota Court of Appeals seats that has been designated for one of the congressional districts must be a resident of that congressional district.

Supreme Court

Associate Justice (Two Seats) 

Seat # Incumbent:

3 (Gordon L. Moore III)

6 (Natalie E. Hudson)

Court of Appeals (Ten Seats)

Appellate offices are elected statewide.  Where designated, candidates must reside in the congressional district listed for at least one year.

Seat # Incumbent:

1 (Theodora K. Gaitas)

5 (Louise Dovre Bjorkman)

7 (5th Congressional District) (Susan Segal)

8 (Denise D. Reilly)

10 (4th Congressional District) (Jennifer L. Frisch)

11 (Michelle Ann Larkin)

16 (Peter M. Reyes, Jr.)

17 (Matthew E. Johnson)

18 (Jeffrey M. Bryan)

19 (Francis J. Connolly)

District Courts

Eighth Judicial District:  (Two Seats):  Counties:  Big Stone, Chippewa, Grant, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Meeker, Pope, Renville, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin, Yellow Medicine 

Seat # Incumbent:

3 (Keith Helgeson)

9 (Rodney C. Hanson)


The Filing Period for County Offices begins on May 17, 2022 at 8:00 a.m. and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, May 31, 2022. Note: Pope County Auditor-Treasurer’s Office will be closed Monday, May 30, 2022, in observance of Memorial Day.  The place of filing for county offices is with the Pope County Auditor in the Pope County Courthouse, 130 Minnesota Avenue East, Glenwood, MN.

County Commissioner

District 1 White Bear Lake Township, Minnewaska Township, City of Starbuck

District 4 Nora Township, New Prairie Township, Walden Township, Blue Mounds Township, 

Barsness Township, Ben Wade Township, Hoff Township, Langhei Township, 

Rolling Forks Township, City of Cyrus, City of Farwell, City of Lowry

District 5 Reno Township, Leven Township, Westport Township, City of Villard, City of Westport, 

City of Long Beach, City of Glenwood – Precinct 2 – NW Quadrant

County Attorney

County Auditor/Treasurer

County Recorder

County Sheriff

Soil & Water Conservation District Supervisor 

District 1 New Prairie Township, White Bear Lake Township, Minnewaska Township, 

Glenwood Township-West of County Road 21

District 3 Lake Johanna Township, Gilchrist Township, Rolling Forks Township, 

Chippewa Falls Township, Bangor Township, Grove Lake Township, Westport Township

District 4 Walden Township, Blue Mounds Township, Barsness Township, Hoff Township, 

Langhei Township

The Soil & Water Conservation District Supervisor Candidates must be residents in the District for which they file but run County Wide.  

/s/ Stephanie Rust                                                          April 25, 2022  

Stephanie Rust Date

Pope County Auditor-Treasurer             

May 2