The 11th annual KMGK Sports Banquet is just around the corner. The annual banquet will again honor student-athletes from six schools throughout the KMGK listening area and will take place on Wednesday, May 4, at the Lakeside Ballroom in Glenwood. This year 22 student-athletes will be honored, representing the Minnewaska Area, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa, West Central Area, Hancock, Benson and Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg school districts.

Representing Minnewaska Area this year are Maddie Thorfinnson, Brooklyn Larson, Emma Kovarik, Hunter Kostelecky, Damon Uhde and Tate Reichmann; from B-B-E, Kylie Winter, Kailey Fischer, Paige Rupp, Blaine Fischer, Walker Bents  and Will Van Beck; from West Central Area, Lexi Bright, Liz Rustan and Kaitlyn Hanson; from Benson, Adysen Himley, Dylan Ascheman and Chaden Carrol; from K-M-S, Grace Collins and Alex Call; and from Hancock, Carlee Hanson and Matt Thompson.

In addition to those student-athletes being recognized, one male and one female athlete will be selected as the Male and Female Athlete of the Year. Three area coaches will also be honored; a Male Coach of the Year, Female Coach of the Year and the Legacy of Leadership Coaches’ Award will be awarded to a coach for their many years of commitment and service to that school’s activities programs. The names of those five awards will be released following the banquet.

This event is open to the public. Tickets are $12 and can be reserved by calling KMGK Radio in Glenwood at 320-634-5358.