Pictured above are the letterwinners for 2022.  In front from left to right are Lauryn Ankeny, Sydney Ankeny, Molly Hjelm, Autumn Hess and Aubrey Stark.  Second — Jaden Anderson, Ian Mills, Kiearra Wilmes, Elsey Hagen, Alexx Carlson, Izzy Bautista, Piper Citrowske-Lee and Teagan Stark.  Back — Carter Dinsmore, Maeson Tank, Ryan Koehntop, Chase Wacker, Jayce Kovarik, Zach Palmer, James Ward and Nick Ankeny.

The Minnewaska Area cross-country teams announced their season-ending awards recently.  The Lakers had a great season in 2022, with the girls team winning the WCC title and the boys placing second.  

At the Section 6A Meet, Lauryn Ankeny and Maeson Tank highlighted the season by earning state berths.  Ankeny went on to place 23rd overall in her second-straight state meet, while Tank placed 56th.

The cross-country teams, coached by Jennifer Johnsrud and Linda Mills, will lose seven athletes   to   graduation   —   James Ward, Jaden Anderson, Nick Ankeny, Elsey Hagen, Molly Hjelm, Alexx Carlson and Kiearra Wilmes.  Ward, Ankeny, Hagen, Carlson and Wilmes served as captains for the 2022 season.  

In addition to all the awards listed on the page, earning Academic All-Conference honors for 2022 were Lauryn Ankeny, Kiearra Wilmes, Elsey Hagen, Aubrey Stark, Molly Hjelm, Alexx Carlson, Autumn Hess, Piper Citrowske-Lee, Teagan Stark, Nick Ankeny, Jayce Kovarik, Zach Palmer and Ian Mills.

Maeson Tank, a junior with the boys cross-country team, was selected as the boys’ MVP.

Lauryn Ankeny, who competed in her second state meet this year, was selected as the MVP of the girls cross-country team for 2022.

Selected Most Improved were Sydney Ankeny, Piper Citrowske-Lee, Carter Dinsmore and Ian Mills.

Captains for the 2022 season were Kiearra Wilmes, James Ward, Alexx Carlson, Nick Ankeny and Elsey Hagen.

Earning the “Most Inspirational” award were Jayce Kovarik, Elsey Hagen and Nick Ankeny.

Earning the “Laker Tough” awards were Nick Ankeny and Elsey Hagen.

Earning All-WCC and honorable mention were Aubrey Stark, Lauryn Ankeny, Maeson Tank, Nick Ankeny, Elsey Hagen and Kiearra Wilmes.  Wilmes was also All-State Academic and Lauryn Ankeny was All-State.

Selected for the “Best Teammate” awards were Zach Palmer and Kiearra Wilmes.

Selected as the captains for next year’s 2023 season are Jayce Kovarik, Maeson Tank, Izzy Bautista and Teagan Stark.