The Minnewaska Area girls tennis team had five individuals earn conference honors this year.  Senior Olivia Bleick, sophomores Megan Thorfinnson and Sydney Dahl, and ninth-grader Alia Randt were named to the All-Conference team for 2022, while sophomore Olivia Danielson was selected to the honorable mention team.

Dahl also earned All-WCC honors last year and Bleick was honorable mention.

Thorfinnson played first singles for the Lakers this year, while Randt was second singles, Danielson was mostly third singles and Bleick and Dahl played first doubles.

Minnewaska Area won its eighth-straight WCC title this fall with a perfect league record of 8-0.  LQP-DB was second with a 7-1 record, followed by Melrose Area (6-2), Morris Area-WCA (4-4), MACCRAY, Benson-KMS, and Montevideo (all 3-5), Sauk Centre (2-6) and YME (0-8).

The Lakers also went 9-10 overall, losing to eventual section champion Litchfield in the section semifinals, 6-1.

•  Members of this year’s Minnewaska Area girls tennis team, coached by Tara Reichmann, Chad Quelle and Carter LaMont, were seniors Olivia Bleick, Zoey Elwood and Grace Jensen; junior Brianna Erickson; sophomores Sydney Dahl, Katie Sorenson, Megan Thorfinnson, Avarie Uhde and Kathryn Vold; and ninth-graders Olivia Danielson, Jayda Kolstoe, Alia Randt, Addison Heid and Hannah Walsh.

•  Members of the Minnewaska girls tennis JV team were ninth-graders Addison Heid and Hannah Walsh; eighth-graders Kaylen Blair, Kennedy Blair, Kiarra Bosek, Hallie Guza, Sophia Hanson, Adysen Hess, Maggie Hjelm, Rachel Rankin, Madeline Reents, Norah VanZee and Kileigh Wilmes; and seventh-graders Hannah Hoeper and Peyton Sundheim.