The All-Area girls basketball team this year includes 11 seniors among the 15 players that were selected.

Montevideo (22-4 record), BOLD (26-6), NLS (30-2), BBE (27-5) and LQP each had two players named to one of the three All-Area teams, while MACCRAY, KMS, Litchfield, Willmar and Paynesville each had one.

Among the area teams, BBE, BOLD and NLS all earned state berths this season.  BBE finished second in Class A, while BOLD was third in A and NLS was fifth in Class AA.

Earning placement on the All-Area first team were BBE senior guard Abby Berge, BOLD sophomore guard Lainey Braulick, Montevideo senior post Avery Koenen, NLS senior guard Avery Rich and LQP senior guard Taylor Shelstad.

On the second team were NLS senior Jaden Coachran, Montevideo senior Tenley Epema, MACCRAY freshman Brielle Janssen, LQP senior Camryn Lee and BOLD senior Mari Ryberg.

Named to the third team were Willmar freshman Telilie Lange, KMS sophomore Madelynn Luft, BBE senior Tiyana Schwinghammer, Litchfield senior Ryanna Steinhaus and Paynesville senior Katie Uhlenkamp.

That means besides the 11 seniors there were two sophomores, two freshmen and no juniors.