The West Central Tribune of Willmar recently came out with its All-Area boys basketball team for 2022-23.  Ten different schools were represented on one of the three All-Area teams, including five schools that had two players each named.

Earning placement on the All-Area first team were Dawson-Boyd 6-foot-7 sophomore Brayson Boike, Prinsburg 6-foot-3 senior Ethan Bulthuis, NLS 6-foot-4 senior Brycen Christensen, KMS 6-foot-7 junior DeAndre Holloway and BBE 6-foot-3 senior Kaden Pieper. 

All five of those players scored at least 1,000 points, including Pieper, who graduated from BBE High School with over 2,000 career points.

On the All-Area second team were BBE junior Luke Dingmann, BOLD sophomore Jack Gross, MACCRAY junior Isaac Post, Willmar senior Blake Schoolmeester and Dawson-Boyd senior Keegon Wicht.

And, named to the third team were Benson senior Juan Espinoza, BOLD senior Ryan King, Paynesville senior Eli Nelson, NLS junior Grant Paffrath and KMS senior Isaac Rudningen.

Overall, there were two players selected from NLS, KMS, BOLD, BBE and Dawson-Boyd and one each from Prinsburg, MACCRAY, Willmar, Benson and Paynesville.

The top teams in the area were Dawson-Boyd (26-4), KMS (21-6), Prinsburg (18-10), BOLD (18-9) and BBE (24-5).

There were nine seniors, four juniors and two sophomores selected for the All-Area team this winter.