• Sport shorts . . .

    | Published on November 14, 2022 at 11:35am CST

    Speaking of Sports By John Fragodt, Sports Reporter •  Vikings off to one of best starts in team history — The Vikings are off to one of the best starts in team history, but being a longtime Vikings’ fan, you can’t blame me if I’m still a little apprehensive of how the season will turn out. I was a… Read More

  • Catch-and-release muskie record

    | Published on November 14, 2022 at 11:34am CST

    The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources certified the state catch-and-release record muskie, a 58.25-inch fish caught by Eric Bakke of Princeton. The previous record was a tie for 57.25-inch muskies, which were caught on Lake Vermilion in 2019 and 2021.  Bakke was fishing on June 11 on Mille Lacs Lake with fishing partner Jon Blood… Read More

  • 2023 invasive aquatic plant management grant applications now open

    | Published on November 14, 2022 at 11:33am CST

    The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources offers grants to lake associations and other groups for invasive aquatic plant management projects. Invasive aquatic plants are non-native plants that can potentially reduce native plant diversity and create recreational nuisance in lakes. The DNR’s invasive plant management goal is to minimize harmful effects caused by invasive plants while also… Read More

  • Staying safe on cold water is everyone’s responsibility

    | Published on November 14, 2022 at 11:33am CST

    The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources reminds anyone whose autumn plans include spending time on or around the water to keep safety in mind. While more boating-related accidents happen during the summer, boating fatalities are higher during the cold-water season. As water temperatures drop, water-based activities become riskier. A fall into a cold lake, pond or… Read More

  • Small game license sales remain below 10-year averages

    | Published on November 14, 2022 at 11:32am CST

    The number of small game hunters in Minnesota continues to decline along a long-term trendline. The number of small game licenses sold in 2021 was 233,901, down 4% from the previous year and 7% below the 10-year average.  Hunters who did pursue waterfowl, grouse and pheasants had success rates similar to the 10-year averages, according… Read More

  • Ankeny places 23rd and Tank 56th at State Cross-Country Meet

    | Published on November 7, 2022 at 11:40am CST

    Two members of the Laker cross-country teams competed at the State Boys and Girls Cross-Country Meet at St. Olaf College, Saturday. Freshman Lauryn Ankeny competed for the Laker girls, placing 23rd overall during her second state competition, while junior Maeson Tank ran for the Laker boys, earning 56th place during his first state meet. Ankeny was fourth… Read More

  • Gators set to compete at 6A Swimming-Diving Meet, Nov. 10-12 

    | Published on November 7, 2022 at 11:39am CST

    The Minnewaska-Morris Gators swimming and diving team is set to take part in the Section 6A Swimming and Diving Meet, Nov. 10-12 at Alexandria.  The swimming prelims are set for Nov. 10, the diving prelims are Nov. 11 and the finals in both swimming and diving are set for Saturday, Nov. 12. The Gators recently competed… Read More

  • Lakers fall to Bulldogs in sub-section finals

    | Published on November 7, 2022 at 11:38am CST

    The run through the playoffs has ended for the Minnewaska Area volleyball team.  The Lakers, seeded sixth in their half of Section 3AA, beat third-seeded Eden Valley-Watkins in four games to open up the tournament and then edged second-seeded New London-Spicer in the second round last Tuesday at NLS High School before losing in four… Read More

  • Winter sports schedules will be published next week

    | Published on November 7, 2022 at 11:37am CST

    The Minnewaska Area winter sports schedules will be published next week in the Pope County Tribune.  Official high school sports’ practices are set to begin Nov. 14 with girls basketball and Nov. 21 for boys basketball and wrestling. The MAHS dance teams are already practicing for their first meet, Nov. 29 at PACT Charter followed by… Read More

  • Minnewaska Area Lakers football team will lose nine players to graduation . . .

    | Published on November 7, 2022 at 11:36am CST

    The Minnewaska Area Laker football team closed out the 2022 season with an 0-9 record after going 1-8 last year.  The Lakers had their best chance at a win during a 28-14 loss at Morris Area where Minnewaska had a handful of additional chances to score in the red zone, but were unable to get… Read More

Sign In